One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus: book review

One of Us Is LyingOne of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Synopsis (Good

A New York Times bestseller

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal , is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete , is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast , is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

My review 

You know when you get a book but you have no intention of reading it, then you do read it and it turns out to be a really good book. This is what happened with this book. The cover isn’t that interesting but the blurb is. This is one of the few times when don’t judge a book by it’s cover totally applies.
This was a serious story but it was also funny at the same time. I don’t know if I was supposed to feel sorry for these four, it was just funny. I failed to take this book seriously because it felt like I was reading a different version of Gossip Girl. I was never a huge fan of the show so even though the blurb was interesting, I did not think I would actually read it.
Simon, one of the students at Bayview runs a gossip application, About That, no one is safe from him and most people hate him and fear him because of it. When he dies and there seems to be foul play, the four students who were with him in detention become the prime suspects in the investigation.
So the main characters were all interesting in their own way I guess. We had Nate, the bad boy who is already on probation for dealing. He lives a hard life unlike most of the students. He takes care of himself and aside from dealing he doesn’t have any other way of making money. I still think he is an idiot for dealing especially when the risk is this high but he was my favourite character. Of course he made me mad at times, but then again most of my favourite characters tend to do that a lot. I just wanted his relationship to work, he could really use someone in his corner.
Cooper was the good guy. Everyone likes Cooper, he knows that already. His secret wasn’t interesting at first, it’s a good thing the big secret changes as the story unfolds. I feel like if I say it I might spoil the book for someone else but I won’t. He was one of the best plot twists in this book. I just think his relationship would have been more interesting if Kris had been more involved in the story as much as Jake had been.
Addy was just the girl who cares about her social status. I’m really glad that changed over time otherwise she would have been unbearable. I’m not a fan of purple hair on anyone but I did like that she was starting to find the things that made her happy instead of trying to please other people. Her story was just sad. When you are going through a tough time you need friends to help you through, realising you don’t have any friends at all? That’s just tough. I can’t help but think she would have acted the same way Keely did if their roles were reversed though.
Brownyn was really great as well. If it weren’t for her and her inability to just let things go Nate would have been screwed for sure. Of all her secrets I didn’t think hers was that bad. A lot of people cheat during tests. The only difference here is that she downloaded all the questions from her teacher’s drive. I think it would have been more interesting if she had decided to sell them for extra cash or something.
When it comes to Jake, the author nailed his character. He seems like a good guy at first. In fact I hoped he would forgive Addy for the cheating. He also had those really annoying habits that made it believable for him to be the actual villain. Until the very end I thought Jake was going to see his faults and try to work on them or whatever. It didn’t go my way but I loved how things ended anyway.
Already I knew when the truth finally came out, it would be something no one could have guessed. There were a few hints from Simon’s activities online but the ending was still unpredictable. I was still reeling a bit when I finished.
I thought the ending was really cute too. At least there is still hope for Nate and Brownyn.
  “ It was … nice. He’s a good kisser. I found myself analyzing the kiss in almost clinical detail while it was happening, mentally congratulating him on a stellar technique while noting the absence of any heat or magnetic pull between us.”
I had to add this. I just found it really funny.
The mystery in this book is definitely worth reading it. It will keep you on your toes until the very end. It also has a lot of humour to keep you laughing to the very end.
xx fayetino

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

