Cinder by Marissa Meyer: book review

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

synopsis (Goodreads)

Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder’s brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it “a matter of national security,” but Cinder suspects it’s more serious than he’s letting on.

Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder’s intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that’s been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter’s illness, Cinder’s stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived.

But it doesn’t take long for the scientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for.

My review

I think I just found a new obsession. The funny thing is I was so sure I was never going to read this book. The whole idea of a retelling of Cinderella didn’t seem that interesting to me. And in a futuristic world where people live on different planets? I thought that was just weird. Surprisingly this turned out to be very interesting. I decided to read this book after I read a review on it on bookchanted, be sure to check it out here  It made me rethink my decision not to read this book, just so you know I’m glad I changed my mind.

So this book is a retelling of Cinderella but the story takes place in New Beijing, 126 years after WW4 . Cinder, a mechanic befriends the prince after he comes to her for help with his android. She doesn’t tell him she is cyborg, half human half robot because everyone looks down on cyborgs. I really liked that this was not the only thing going on in the book, there was also the issue of the plague and the evil Luna queen.
At first I wasn’t really into the book but after a while I became curious about this world and how everything works. Once I understood that part I really got to enjoy this book. Everything seemed so complicated at first because I was trying to understand what being cyborg is and so on and so forth. I think the author did a great job with the world building. Even though it seemed complicated at first it’s actually not that hard to understand. I was a bit sceptical about the whole people living on different planets thing but everything just worked perfectly.

There was the occasional reminder that this story has an Asian setting like the ceremonial outfit Kai wore and the eating with chopsticks but aside from that it didn’t feel like we were in Asia at all. Maybe this is because things change over time? Anyway this was not really a big issue for me, the story was too good for me to care about anything else.
Looking at the book as a whole, there is never a dull moment. It’s the mystery that drew me in and the crazy moment after crazy moment kept me glued to it. Cinder is always up to something, that girl has spirit. I like that she never did anything to piss me off, like stupid decisions and what not. I was on her side the whole time and wanted her to piss off Andri as much as possible.

Please add Kai to my list of favourite Male characters. OMG I love this guy, I wish he could just come to life my goodness. He was just amazing and I lived for every moment with him in it. He is the main reason why I want to read the second book. He is humble, he cares about his people and is willing to sacrifice himself for the greater good ( even though it turns out not to be the greater good he actually expected) but anyway. He was just soo cool throughout the book.

I have to give it to her, Levana is a real bitch. There is no hope for redemption there. I wanted to scream DIE BITCH DIE !!!!> and I really hope she dies soon. please tell me she dies soon when it comes to villains I’m not sure I would include her on my best villains list because I hate her so much. In fact I am sure without her magic she is UUUUUGLY. She just needs to leave my prince alone.

This review won’t be complete without me mentioning the plot twists in this book. There were quite a few and almost all of them were mind blowing. the one I think was supposed to be the biggest OMG moment in this book sadly wasn’t. I had figured it out earlier on because of that weird doctor’s rambling. It was soo easy to put the clues together. (view spoiler) The big surprise for me was (view spoiler)

When it comes to the ball….that was just excruciating to read through. Wasn’t Cinderella supposed to arrive at the ball in a pretty carriage wearing a pretty dress? This whole ball was just a mess. Not in a bad way but in a why do the gods hate cinder so much way. I wanted to hide in embarrassment on her behalf, no one should ever have to go through that.

I really need to add this. I thought this was by far the most hilarious part in the book;

“Any number of things were sure to go wrong—from tripping on the stairs and flashing the prince a sexy metal thigh…”

this girl is just hilarious 

I could rant all day but I made myself write this review before starting the second book and writing this review just made me want to read it some more. If you want to know more about this book then you will have to read it. Trust me this book is a must read, maybe we can obsess over prince Kai together:).

I am going to get started on Scarlet now, I hope there are a lot of Kai scenes in there, keeping my fingers crossed. Happy reading.
xx fayetino                                                                                        

View all my reviews

4 Replies to “Cinder by Marissa Meyer: book review”

  1. Hey great review! You put across your thoughts really well and I love how invested you are in the characters! Thanks for mentioning my review, that was really nice of you! I hope you love Scarlet too! It doesn’t have many Kaider scenes but believe me it’s still amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

