Scarlet by Marissa Meyer: book review

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My review:

SPOILER ALERT!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
It is no secret I loved the cinder the first book in this series. This book though took me a while to get used to because of the changes. Obviously I wanted more of cinder and Kai but in no time I was used to and starting to enjoy scarlet’s story. It did help that Cinder and Kai were involved as well.
This story just keeps getting better and better and it’s a bit weird that the one thing that made me not want to read this series is the very thing that makes it so interesting. This seemed to be a retelling of little red riding hood and I thought it was really interesting because it’s kind of the same but completely different. I think the author was very creative on this part.
Scarlet is worried sick about her grandmother who disappeared without a trace. She knows something is very wrong even though the police don’t take the matter seriously enough. She meets wolf, a good-looking but weird guy who might know where her grandmother is. They go to Paris to look for her but as soon as they get there everything goes wrong. Meanwhile cinder escapes from prison with the help of Thorne, a convict, and tries to find the pilot who helped hide her when she was brought to earth. This doesn’t go well for Kai since Levana is livid when she finds out so Kai also has a lot on his plate in this book.
I really like Scarlet, she put herself in lots of danger for her grandmother and I can’t decide if that was brave or stupid since her grandma died anyway. She is obviously naive. I wouldn’t have trusted Wolf for a second…but well, you know what they say…desperate times and what not. She didn’t have any secrets so there weren’t many big revelations or anything.
Again the plot twists weren’t anything special. I figured wolf was working for Levana when he admitted he worked for the people who had taken scarlet’s grandma, anyone could have figured that one out. And because he worked for Levana, I did not like Wolf very much. Sure he was being forced to against his will but any connection to Levana was just a no no for me. We’ll see, maybe I will get to like him as time goes on.
I wasn’t crazy about Scarlet and Wolf together. Unlike Cinder and Kai, they didn’t have a lot of things against them so their romance was..dare I say a bit boring? Maybe it’s because I wasn’t a huge fan of Wolf from the start but I just wish they had been more interesting. We never got much of Wolf’s POV so I think I wanted to see that battle within himself as he struggled to come to terms with his feelings for Scarlet and his duty to the queen. I don’t know maybe that would have made him more interesting.
So Thorne was another one of the added characters. At first I thought he would be really interesting because he doesn’t know when to shut up, but then he became annoying, because he doesn’t know when to shut up. Seriously, Cinder should really consider getting tape the next time she lands on earth. My eyes might just permanently move to the back of my head from rolling my eyes whenever Thorne compliments himself..or his stupid ship. He really is a thorn that guy. I will tolerate him as long as he is on Cinder’s side though.
As much as this book focused more on Scarlet, it still felt like Cinder’s story. I love how she decided to ignore the crazy doctor’s orders to go to Africa and just decided to go on a mission of her own. She is just stubborn to no end. I think ever since she learned that she is the princess she has come to expect too much of herself. She blames herself for everything. Even though Levana attacked after she escaped, that attack can only be blamed on Levana’s stupidity not Cinder. Speaking of Levana, why isn’t she dead yet? I was tired of her from the moment she showed up so now I just want her gone. She just annoys me to no end.
Lastly Kai. He needs a break. That’s all. He just had to deal with problem after problem and Levana’s crazy demands. He needs help and fast.
The book as a whole was really fun to read. It was never lacking in action and the story just got better. It was a really good sequel and it leaves you wanting more. Now on to the next book….

View all my reviews

2 Replies to “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer: book review”

Leave a Reply

