Cress by Marissa Meyer: book review

Cress by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis (Goodreads)

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

My review

And we are back 4 stars. This was an improvement from the last book and I enjoyed it tremendously. I’ve always liked Rapunzel and this twist was quite interesting. The characters weren’t really new which I liked because this story was starting to feel a bit overcrowded.
Cress, the girl we met briefly in Cinder is our latest edition. She has been stuck on a satelite for most of her life working as a hacker for the queen. She is the reason why those horrendous creations were able to get on earth undetected. She also has this really stupid crush on Thorne. When Cinder tries to rescue her from Mira everything goes wrong and the group ends up separated.
Let me just get this out of the way, I still don’t like Thorne. He hasn’t changed one bit since Scarlet and I’m getting a little sick of it. I din’t understand why Cress was so in love with him in the first place, falling in love with someone you don’t even know is not healthy.
Cress is really sweet, sometimes naive but I understand considering her situation. For the first time in this series the author actually managed to surprise me. Of course she had to go ahead and turn it into a pitiful situation. I finally feel like Dr Erland has finally served his purpose. I liked that she had the long hair even if it was only for a short time.
It was finally time for Kai to get a short break from his mess of a life. I was getting tired of him facing the repercussions of Cinder’s actions while he was kept in the dark about everything going on. I already like him and Cinder together so that kiss was long overdue.
Queen Levana…well I just don’t care anymore. At least she didn’t marry Kai. That was a small mercy. But whatever happens to her in the end, I hope it’s really horrible.
This book made me like Scarlet and Wolf more, sadly they had to be separated. I think this will make their relationship more interesting because it was just too dull or me.
I would have given this book 5 stars but Queen Levana is still alive so…4 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

