Winter by Marissa Meyer: book review

Winter by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mark her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

My review

This was the perfect ending to this story. It took me forever to finish because this book was a lot longer than the other three but I enjoyed almost every moment of it. I’m going to miss these characters. Most of them grew on me and now I’m kind of sad I’m with this series.
We met Winter briefly as she saved scarlet from execution on winter. Winter has the Lunar disease because she won’t use her gift to manipulate people. She is also in love with Jacin, a guard and they both join Cinder’s team.
I wasn’t a big fan of winter to be honest. She is kind and a bit funny but her sickness made her a bit annoying. You can’t even understand what the girl is saying half the time and I did not have the patience. Her relationship with Jacin was a bit funny but only from her perspective, Jacin is just too serious for me.
I don’t trust Jacin, I know he betrayed Cinder because he wanted to get back to Winter but I could honestly care less. The way he gets all overprotective when it comes to Winter was really annoying. That is the only thing that I remember about Jacin, He was in love with Winter. Honestly he was a bit more entertaining in Cress when there was still some mystery to him.
Cinder managed to piss me off a lot in this book. This whole thing of her not being able to use her powers properly yet was a really bad idea. And she never even tried to defend herself using her powers when she was captured That was a huge waste. Not to mention her poor planning when she decided to give her speech in the open. That was the same as waving a red flag in Levana’s face. Even I knew there were cameras everywhere.
well Kai was perfect as always lol. I don’t have anything to complain about when it comes to Kai. In fact I really liked his little show of defiance at the wedding.
In my review of Scarlet I complained about how Scarlet and Wolf weren’t given enough problems. Well this book just solved that. In a really cruel way of course. I hate that they were separated for so long. in fact I was getting tired of the splitting up every time.
Cress and Thorne finally got together but this was the least of my concerns in this book. There was just so much going on for me to actually care about the romance.
Iko was quite interesting. I never thought I would like her that much. I do not think her personality chip was faulty at all. She was really fun and she kept things interesting.
This book did feel a bit overcrowded. Each book in this series introduced a lot of new characters so in the end there was just too many of them. I really didn’t like that.
This snow white retelling was well done. I was curious about how the whole apple thing was going to come into play and everything just worked out perfectly. I did like that Winter and Jacin had known each other since they were kids so this made their relationship more concrete.
You have n idea how much I am happy Levana is finally dead. This is why I gave this book five stars. I really didn’t like her and her death was a big relief.
This book was a great read and I might just read it again in the future. There was a lot of good to outweigh the few things that I didn’t like so this book definitely deserves 5 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

