Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas: book review


Crown of Midnight
by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis (Goodreads)

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My review

After reading it for the second time this is still one of the best books I’ve read. I’m already in love with this series so I enjoyed this book a lot. The story just keeps getting better and this book brought one of the most shocking revelations in this series.
The book continues from where Throne of Glass left off. Celaena is now the King’s champion and has been at her job for a while, just not in the way everyone thinks. When the King orders Celaena to kill Archer Finn, a former acquaintance she decides to investigate the new threat to the king herself. There are also signs of evil brewing, the king is definitely up to no good and Elena wants Celaena to find answers.
Note: if you haven’t read the Assassin’s blade yet it I think it would be best to read it before Crown of midnight. That way you will understand the story a lot more and a few of the characters and events mentioned are from the novellas.
I am a huge Dorian fan so I was very disappointed when Dorian and Celaena’s relationship didn’t work out.  Despite that the romantic side of this book was well done. I really enjoyed the tension and it also gave Celaena a softer side. This girl loves fiercely and I admire her for it. I will not dwell much on Chaol and Celaena because there are a lot of spoilers here.
This book is my favourite in the series because of all the action and humour. I just love how Celaena had the guts to travel with rotting body parts to deliver to the King. Even I was a bit shocked. I think Maas just needed to let it sink in that despite all the cute moments with Dorian and Chaol she is still a killer. I really liked Celaena in a killing mood. That was just awesome. (except for the Grave part…that was just painful..the face I made while reading through this part was just crazy) That was the best part of the book, even the king didn’t know what to make of her.
Nehemia and Celaena’s friendship seemed cool to me at first. But later on in the book the whole thing was just ruined. I know Celaena will always love Nehemia but it seems like the girl was keeping way too many secrets. I wouldn’t trust her after all of those discoveries. The one true thing about Nehemia is that she wanted to free her country and shut down the labour camps. The rest is a big question mark for me.
Archer was also really annoying. The idiot should have just taken Celaena’s help and spared us a whole lot of trouble. He is just as power hungry as the king.
How come the king of Adarlan doesn’t have a name, just a title…hmm weird. Something I hadn’t noticed before.
I like how throughout the book you keep getting hints on how things are going to play out. You need to really concentrate when reading the book, almost every word in it is important. I still can’t imagine how Maas managed to tie all of these little details to the bigger storyline, it’s really amazing.
One more thing I feel I need to mention, the plot twists. When it comes to Nehemia there were just too many of them you could get a headache from it all. The blame was always shifting and at this point Celaena knows who is really to blame here, she just doesn’t want to accept it. There… I tried to be vague as much as possible, I really don’t want to spoil this book for anyone.  
Aside from the crappy minor characters this book was really good. It has interesting revelations, perhaps the biggest one in the series. It is also nonstop action so it is really fun throughout. Trust me, you won’t want to put it down.

View all my reviews

2 Replies to “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas: book review”

Leave a Reply

